Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

ORU Wins Seven Championships on Final Day of Summit League Championship

ORU Wins Seven Championships on Final Day of Summit League Championship

The Basics
Event: The Summit League Outdoor Championship
Location: ONEOK Sports Complex / Tulsa, Okla.
Complete Results: Summit League Championship – Final Results

TULSA, Okla. – The Oral Roberts track and field teams combined for seven event championships on Saturday, giving the Golden Eagles a total of eight Summit League Champions for the meet, as action concluded from the 2018 Summit League Outdoor Track and Field Championships at the ONEOK Sports Complex.

News and Notes
- Mercy Abire was named co-Women's Field Championship MVP, while Aniekeme Etim was named the Women's Track Championship MVP and the Newcomer of the Championship.

- Etim's Track MVP award was ORU's first since Tamaira Williams earned the honor in 2016 and her Newcomer of the Championship marked ORU's first since Cornesha Wilkerson in 2010. Abire's Field MVP honor was ORU's first since Rachel Talbert won it in 2010.

- Etim also made history by becoming the first athlete in Summit League history to earn both the Newcomer of the Championship and Track Championship MVP awards.

- Etim's 100m dash time of 11.25 would have smashed the school and Summit League meet record, but was a 3.1 wind index, which is above the allowable 2.0 mark. Etim's previous season best was 11.36 with a 5.8 wind.

- Israel Nelson matched the school record with a 13.89 second time in the 110m hurdles, but the wind was also above the limit for his race at 3.0.

- In a thrilling race from start to finish, the women's 4x400m relay team ran its best time of the season at 3:43.40.

- The ORU women finished third overall with 116 team points, while the ORU men finished fourth with 97 team points. ORU's third place finish was its highest since 2010.

Men's Top Five Finishers
100m Dash
3 – Aobakwe Malau – 10.53

200m Dash
3 – Aobakwe Malau – 21.15

400m Dash
1 – Emmanuel Mwewa – 47.85
2 – Freddie Johnson – 48.33
4 – Cameron Neely – 48.95
5 – Kenneth James – 49.36

110m Hurdles
1 – Israel Nelson – 13.89

4x100m Relay
3 – Aobakwe Malau, Victor Peka, Emmanuel Mwewa, Israel Nelson – 40.71

4x400m Relay
1 – Kenneth James, Cameron Neely, Aobakwe Malau, Freddie Johnson – 3:12.99

Triple Jump
2 – Jaden Purnell – 14.83m (48-8.0)
5 – Joshua Tabla – 14.17m (46-6.0)

Women's Top Five Finishers
100m Dash
1 – Aniekeme Etim – 11.25
3 – Cameron Hilliard – 11.75
5 – Sasha Wells - 11.81

200m Dash
1 – Aniekeme Etim – 23.54
2 – Cameron Hilliard – 24.01
4 – Kayvon Stubbs – 24.09

400m Dash
5 – Christina Ollison – 56.56

100m Hurdles
3 – Sasha Wells – 14.14

4x100m Relay
1 – Mercy Abire, Cameron Hilliard, Kirsten Burnett, Aniekeme Etim – 45.48

4x400m Relay
2 – Christina Ollison, Sasha Smith-Pollard, Aniekeme Etim, Cameron Hilliard – 3:43.40

Triple Jump
1 – Mercy Abire – 13.10m (42-11.75)
5 – Kirsten Burnett – 12.58m (41-3.25)

Individual Award Winners
Most Outstanding Performers
Shanice Cannigan – South Dakota
Joe Reagan – South Dakota

Women's Field Co-MVP
Mercy Abire – ORU
Maddy Niles - NDSU

Women's Track MVP
Aniekeme Etim – ORU

Women's Newcomer of the Championship
Aniekeme Etim – ORU

Men's Field MVP
Bryant Courter – South Dakota State

Men's Track MVP
Kyle Burdick – South Dakota State

Men's Newcomer of the Championship
Daniel Clarke – South Dakota State

Women's Coach of the Year
Lucky Huber – South Dakota

Men's Coach of the Year
Don Larson – North Dakota State

Up Next
Qualifiers will compete in the NCAA West Preliminary Rounds in Sacramento, California, May 24-26.

For the latest information on ORU Track and Field, follow the Golden Eagles on Facebook,  Twitter and Instagram or go to  Fans can also receive updates on the team by downloading the Golden Eagles Front Row App at or in the App Store.