Seven Golden Eagles Awarded League Honors

Seven Golden Eagles Awarded League Honors

ELMHURST, Ill. – The Summit League announced its annual women's soccer all-league awards Wednesday on the eve of its championship tournament. Regular season champion South Dakota State accounted for two of the league's top four player honors. No. 2 tournament seed Denver represented the other two player awards.

Denver's Jessie Dancy, the league's leading goal scorer, received the Offensive Player of the Year accolade, while her teammate Meg Halvorson earned the Freshman of the Year title. South Dakota State's Annie Williams was named the Defensive Player of the Year, while teammate Maggie Smither was tabbed the Goalkeeper of the Year for the team's stellar defensive play. In his first year as head coach of the Jackrabbits, Brock Thompson garnered Coach of the Year honors after guiding his program to an undefeated record in Summit League regular season play.

After scoring only two goals in her first three years, Dancy became the first in Denver's history to score five goals in the team's first six games. The Summit League leading scorer (12), she earned The Summit League Offensive Player of the Week honor three times this past season. The senior forward was the fastest Pioneer to double digit goals since Kristen Hamilton in 2013. Coincidentally, 2013 is also the last time Denver won the regular season or the Championship.

From her position at midfield, Halvorson imposed her will on the offensive side of the ball. The freshman is tied for seventh in the league in goals (5) and points (11). In September, she netted a game-winning goal against Cal State Fullerton in the 80th minute, after heading into the half trailing 2-1. Halvorson is Denver's second consecutive (and second all-time) Freshman of the Year honoree after teammate Hannah Adler earned the award last season.

After receiving Summit League tournament MVP honors in 2016, Smither returned with fire, posting eight shutouts and allowing only one goal in league play. The Sioux Falls native ranks first in the league in saves (83), save percentage (.856) and goals against average (0.80). Her career goals against average of 0.62 holds the top spot in Summit League history.

In addition to stellar goalkeeper play, the Jackrabbit defense was held strong by Williams. The Defensive Player of the Year led a backline that enters championship play with six consecutive shutouts, winners of their last nine and unbeaten in the last 11. In addition, the junior has tallied two assists and netted three goals, including a game-winner at Western Illinois.

After assisting at South Dakota State for nine years, Thompson earned the head coaching job less than a year ago. In his first year at the helm, he led the Jackrabbits to an undefeated league season, winning the regular season title for the first time since 2014. South Dakota State ranks first in shots (278) and has allowed a league-low 15 goals.

Regular season champion South Dakota State and No. 2 tournament seed Denver had the highest total of all-league selections with six each, the Jackrabbits totaling five first-team honorees and the Pioneers with three. Oral Roberts totaled four all-league picks with two on the first team, while North Dakota State earned one honoree on each team.

Joining Dancy, Williams and Smither on the first team are SDSU's Nicole Hatcher, Leah Manuleleua, and Tori Poole, Denver's Hannah Adler and Makenzie Bothner, ORU's Brooklyn Eardley and Jordan Langebartels, and NDSU's Malley O'Brien.



First Team

Hannah Adler (M), Denver

Makenzie Bothner (D), Denver

Jessie Dancy, (F), Denver

Brooklyn Eardley (D), Oral Roberts

Nicole Hatcher (F), South Dakota State

Jordan Langebartels (F), Oral Roberts

Leah Manuleleua (F), South Dakota State

Malley O'Brien (M), North Dakota State

Tori Poole (M), South Dakota State

Maggie Smither (GK), South Dakota State

Annie Williams (D), South Dakota State

Second Team

Anna Gornell (M), Oral Roberts

Meg Halvorson (M), Denver

Alexa Hepner (D), South Dakota State

Taryn Labree (F), South Dakota

Nelly Mamabolo (M), Oral Roberts

Abby Meader (D), Omaha

Kallianne Mogler (F), Fort Wayne

Hanna Norman (D), North Dakota State

Taylor Parker (D), Denver

Kellee Willer (F), South Dakota

Brittany Wilson (GK), Denver


All-Freshman Team

Danielle Algera (M), North Dakota State

Macee Barlow (F), Denver

Emma Gaggioli (GK), Fort Wayne

Meg Halvorson (M), Denver

Brittney Lewis (M), Denver

Brianna McGowan (M), Oral Roberts

Jessica Misquez (D), Oral Roberts

Amogelang Motau (F), Oral Roberts

Taylor Parker (D), Denver

Jessica Schoenfeldt (F), Fort Wayne

Kaitlin Zabel (D), South Dakota State

Offensive Player of the Year
Jessie Dancy, Denver

Defensive Player of the Year
Annie Williams, South Dakota State

Goalkeeper of the Year
Maggie Smither, South Dakota State

Freshman of the Year
Meg Halvorson, Denver

Coach of the Year
Brock Thompson, South Dakota State

For the latest information on ORU women's soccer, follow @ORUWSoccer on Twitter or go to Fans can also receive updates on the team by downloading the Golden Eagles Front Row App at or in the App Store.

---#ORURiseUp ---